throwback: 7 years of hard work

Aside from music and entertainment, fitness and nutrition is another passion of mine. I workout 7 days a week and I am constantly looking at food labels for nutrition information. Though I am better at it now, it was not always like that in years past. It took me seven years of dedication, motivation and discipline to get where I am now. I started at 220 pounds and I am now 150 pounds and currently maintaining it. How did I lose it all? This is what this post is all about.

I first started my attempt to lose weight back in 2010, my sophomore year of high school.

IMG_2591

The first diet attempt I tried was having no carbs. By no carbs, I mean no rice, bread or any kind of starchy carbs. I tried it for about 2 months and I lost 5 pounds from it. THis was with little to no exercise. The little exercise was hiking mountains fro about 30 min once or twice a week. There was a bet in my family as to whoever lost the most weight would $100.  With that in mind, I stuck to it and won the bet! My second attempt was doing the fitness program “P90x” I would do each workout in my living room everyday and would eat lean cuisines throughout the day. The workouts were intense and from that diet regimen I lost another 5 pounds, so 10 pounds total at this point.

Life got in the way and I started to eat what I used to eat and did not track my weight or anything like that. It was not until senior year I got back on it again. My friend, a nutritionist and personal trainer, introduced me to an app called “MyFitnessPal” After putting in my height, weight, activity level, etc. the app told me what my daily calorie intake should be. I wanted to lose 2 pounds a week and my calorie intake was 1,500 calories. I did not have a gym membership at the time as my friend would let me come with her to her local gym as a guest.

At the gym, I mainly focused on cardio with a little bit of weight lifting. I still did not track my weight but tracked my calories. I would go to the gym once or twice a week but would also got back on P90x on the days I did not go to the gym. That was pretty much my whole summer into going into college. When I first started college in August 2012, I ate all of the fatty foods and did not care. My roommate however ate really healthy and would go to the gym on a daily basis. The gym was included in our tuition. Chicken, brown rice, fruit. nuts is what he ate and after about a month, I started to follow his regimen. At the gym, I only did cardio. I would be on the elliptical every single day for an hour straight and would burn around 1000 to 1200 calories depending on the intensity level. What kept me motivated? Music music music…… and food.

Music is a huge factor for me and without music, I am not as motivated still to this day. I listened to a lot of EDM, Hip-Hop/Rap and live concerts from all genres. With food at the time, I looked at the gym as a job. The longer you work, the more money you make. The  more calories I burned, the more food I can eat. Fast forward to May of 2013, and I lost 52 pounds (62 pounds total). I was at 158 pounds! My weight did fluctuate up and down throughout that time, but I was very consistent.

My sophomore, junior and senior year of college was mostly cardio. It was not until the beginning of my senior year is when I started to focus more on weight lifting. I wanted to focus on being toned and not skinny-fat. I started to follow many trainers on bodybuilding.com and would do the workouts but would not follow the food plan. I ate healthy with protein shakes, veggies and all but did not count my calories as often. Plus, alcohol did not help at all throughout the years as well.

After graduating last year, I started to get more serious about weight lifting. I lifted weights 6 times a week with an active rest day (all cardio). I did not go out as much and was on a strict diet, and counting my calories every day (1,500 calories). This time however, I counted everything that went into my body. I followed more bodybuilders on social media and they introduced into counting my “macros”. Macros mean I track my fat intake, protein intake and carb intake everyday.

I tracked it by buying a food scale. I would and still weigh everything. From my proteins shakes to my vegetables, I counted every little thing. My macros at the time were 178 grams of protein, 52 grams of fat and 178 grams of carbs. Coachella was around the corner and I was determined to get that Coachella bod. After months of discipline, hard work and some cheat meals, I got to my goal weight for Coachella, 150 pounds.unnamed

After Coachella, I still eat the same 1,500 calories and use the same macros, but I am not as strict as I was. That means if I want an extra scoop of peanut butter, I will have it haha.

Throughout this journey, I learned that it is hard to lose weight and keep it off. What motivates me now to keep it off? Thinking about how hard I worked to get to this point of my life. I do enjoy a good slice of pizza and buffets every once in awhile, but I stay focused and motivated. If it were not for bodybuilders like Chris Elkins, Chris Barakat, Zach the flexible dieter, BJ Gaddour and Cohn Wolfe, I probably would not be where I am today as the all have taught me so much.

My next post will be about the foods that I eat on a daily basis and will tell calories, fat, protein, etc.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

